Le Roux Rendezvous

These past days this last week have twisted and turned according to the elastic bonds of family. This morning I rode out of Milly-sur-Foret and the Fontainebleau Forests with a level of lightness and joy gained in no small part through renewed connection to family. I was no longer a solo soul adrift.
Backtrack to four days ago. My search of the cemeteries of Blois and beyond yielded no clues. Just weathered and worn opulence in stone. And, in metal, that familiar emaciated figure, ribs always exposed, pinned to crosses that lay about everywhere. Clearly both Catholic graveyards there in Blois. No Le Rouxs, Protestants, to be seen.
But no matter. I had bigger clues to follow. I had a record of birth. (Or of baptism, which in those times was the same thing.) “Those times” being Sunday 28th of July 1669. The register in the town’s book of births and deaths read [translated from French]: “Gabriel Le Roux son of Pierre Le Roux and of Anne Bourdon was born on the 25th of this month at three o’clock after midday and was presented to be christened by…his godfather and godmother…”
Stop right there! Do you hear what I’m saying? I held that old registry book in my hands! I touched with my fingers the old paper and its ink scrawls.
With no help from the Tourism Office – who had assured me with confidence that there were no publicly viewable records dating to that time – but with great help from Google Maps, I’d found the provincial archives office, walked in with trepidation, surprised myself with my ability to haul out sufficient French to explain my situation to the guy at reception, and 15 minutes later was sitting in front of the original, handwritten record book. Not at all unlike the ones in use in Laos today. What a feeling that was! What a grin on my face as I caressed those pages.
Plus, the helpful Alexis Durand, administrative assistant par excellence, had an article, published just last month in Australia by the Huguenot Association, that gave more information on the two Le Rouxs who made it to South Africa. My timing could not have been better.
Jean Le Roux, it turned out, had been born on the farm Pommegorge, just outside the village of Mer, about 25km from Blois. When his mother died, the parents of Gabriel Le Roux, whose birth registry I had in my hands, had moved to Pommegorge and all had lived together as one big happy family.
Gabriel was actually Jean’s uncle, but they were only a few years apart, and grew up as cousins until Gabriel’s dad died and his mom married Jean’s father. Now they were step-brothers. But no matter: they already called themselves brothers.
These were the “brothers” who fled together to the Netherlands as refugees when neither was yet 20 years old. Protestants at the time were not allowed to practice their professions or their religion, or sell their possessions. They had to go to Catholic Mass and get married in the Catholic Church. They were allowed to leave the country, but only if they took nothing with them. Which is exactly what the two young men did, finding themselves in Delft in the Netherlands by June of 1687, and on New Year’s Eve of that same year on the Voorschoten as it threw off its moorings to sail for the Cape, where it would make landing in Saldanha Bay (about a two-hour drive from Cape Town today) three-and-a-half months later on April 13, 1688.
Gabriel and Jean were granted land in what would become South Africa’s winelands. Jean named his farm Paris, married a French woman named Jeanne in 1703 and they had four kids. Gabriel named his farm La Concorde. In 1701 he also married a French woman and they had five children before both brothers drowned together in August 1711.
Three hundred and five years later, on a cold and cloudy day last week, I followed the voice of trusty Google Maps to Pommegorge. Not only was there a name sign outside, but when I buzzed, there was somebody to let me in the gate and to slowly shuffle out to welcome me. I told the old man my name and stuttered about why I had come. But my name was enough. The octogenarian owner, Andre Duche, walks slowly but gets highly animated when discussing the history of his farm, and was delighted to lead me to the very house my ancestors grew up in. A raggedy old barn now, it still shows all the markings of its two-floors-plus-an-attic original state. Andre Duche discretely stepped away and let me just stand there for a time. Stand and absorb. The space. The details. My history. I stood on the earth that birthed those who would eventually birth me.
And though, from one perspective, it was all very natural. From another, I felt… dare I say it… grounded. Rooted.
No, I am not French. Not European (with all the Apartheid-era nuances of that word.) I am African. But, at last, I have a heritage. I can trace one strand of my people back to a real place and time. I have stood where they stood. Now I can walk/trip/dance forward.
With that little victory just begging to be shared with more Le Rouxs, it was easy to make the call midway through a day’s ride to change direction and head to the little French village to the north that my brother and his family were visiting, rather than heading south-east as I’d originally planned. A few days with Douard and Emma and Ollie, a few South African braai barbecues, laugh-out-loud table tennis with a four-year-old, French baguette-and-cheese lunches in the courtyard, late-into-the-night chats, and hours of rewarding work on Douard’s business website, and I was plugged back into the grid again. Connected.
So much so that, this afternoon, when I went over a bump on the riverside path I was riding, and iTunes on my phone bizarrely switched itself on and Diana Krall randomly started belting out I love being here with you, my overwhelming feeling was “YES!”
In all the last three months, to the very day, those words would have elicited rather more gloomy feelings. But today, you was me. I was at peace with the world. Riding solo but without a touch of loneliness, I sang along to this and all Krall’s jazz standards as me, my bike and I wended along the winding river that will suggest our route in the coming days.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. petronellapart says:

    Hi. I was so happy to find you and your news. I want to know much more as I feel I belong right there My Mother was a Le Roux and my Grandfather Lourens Matthys Le Roux’s Father was Gabriel Le Roux. I am finally nearly home. P.

  2. Femmy Le Roux says:

    Thank you for all the awesome pictures and confirmation of Gabriel Le Roux’s family. My husband is a direct descendent.

    1. Jacques says:

      DOMINIQUE I have started to build a website for the 3 Le Roux’s family trees a little while back, please come visit it at http://www.LeRouxStamboom.com and I have used your photos and info. I linked it all back to you to show the source and acknowledge you.
      I am busy building the family trees using all the sources available from 1650 to +-1970. I hope to build a complete database for all of us Le Rouxs to have use as we can best we can and get other Le Rouxs to add more info as the website grows.

  3. Dean le Roux says:

    thereafter I received a copy of the family “wapen”, Constantia, along with the genealogy going back 8 generations to Jean le Roux.

    Mary M Massyn, our granny passed away in the 1918 flu and I had an opportunity to visit the graveyard in Cookhouse with my late father, Jacobus Francois, later taking some photos – the graveyard of the town was being slowly eroded by the Great Fish River on its changing path, and many of the tombstones were literally on the steep bank of the river. While on a business trip I travelled past Kommadagga, across to Somerset East alongside Gold Valley, had coffee with my late dad under tall bluegums, as he shared of his days there. Wish I had written it all done. Having lost his own mom when he was four years old, like Cheryl lost her dad, he had much empathy for Cheryl.

    Thank you for the very interesting article and pictures. I visited Saldannah with Cheryl in the 80’s never knowing that this was where our forefathers landed.

    If you are ever back in sunny SA, please look us up in the Lowveld.

  4. Dean le Roux says:

    Thanks Dominique for sharing this information. Somewhere in the 80’s I was introduced to the le Roux familiebond by a colleague. Shortly

  5. Jos le Roux says:

    Hello Dominique,

    Like the others I came to your blog via our trusted source in all things wise and unwise: Google. I am intrigued that you had actually seen THE le Roux baptism entry. As I am planning a future pilgrimage to that neck of the woods, please help me out by stating where and how I can see this document.

    Kind regards

    1. Hi, Jos. So sorry about my delayed reply. I went to the provincial archives, which are somewhere in the suburbs of Blois – I can’t remember exactly where but I did find it by Googling it. I simply pitched up and told the guy at reception what I was looking for, and he was incredibly helpful. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll be just as lucky as I was.

  6. Liezel Le Roux says:

    Hi. I found your writings in 2018 and it brought tears to my eyes. What a privilege to stand on the ground our ancestors walked. I am currently watching a series called “Reign” which revolves around France, England and Scotland and has some incite into the lives and challenges between the Catholics and the Protestants. Even though the story line might not be 100% correct it is based on actual characters.

  7. Hey Dominique

    Just came upon your site after a google search, we’ve been busy researching Jean and Gabriel le Roux for the past month. We were able to trace them to this farm and busy working further into the past. Then I google the farm name + Le roux and and your site popped. You have great info on here, is it possible I can ask a few questions and would you like to know how far back I can find out and maybe could you give me some more info into the past if you have some.

    Cheers
    Jacques le Roux (formerly Paarl, now Scotland)

    1. Hi, Jacques
      Sure, go ahead. Feel free to contact me via Whatsapp on +856 20 5582 3414. Would be lovely to hear what you have found.

      1. Jacques le Roux says:

        Been a while but I have Whatsapped you Dominique, hopefully number still works

  8. christien du Preez says:

    Hi Domenique. Was I glad when I got onto your sight, actually quite by accident. You have a wonderful way with words, and descriptions, so I will follow your blog. My children have a piece of ground in Equielle, and we are going there in July, so the fact that Blois is quite close to where i will be was quite exciting, and the fact that I might be invited in by the man living there now had my head in a spin. I recently started to research my family tree, and knew that my French ancestors came from Pommegorge, so I hold my thumbs that I will also be lucky enough to just have a look. Please keep writing, I really enjoyed reading this.

    1. Thank you so much, Christien. I’m holding thumbs for you!

  9. Jimi le Roux says:

    Hi Dominique! Found your blog on the internet… 🙂 This year, new information has been published concerning Jean and Gabriel le Roux, who came to South Africa in 1688 and started our whole lineage. It seems they were brothers after all. The new version has been accepted by the Le Roux Familiebond and the articles by Ghislaine le Mauff has been placed on their website (https://sites.google.com/site/lerouxfamiliebond/stamouers/the-le-roux-family-from-mer) – very interesting! Anyway, THANK YOU for your photos of Pommegorge and how it looks now. Yes, it seems our family lived right there, once, with their uncle Isaac le Roux, the Seigneur (“lord”) of Pommegorge.
    Alles van die beste
    Jimi le Roux

    1. Jimi, thank you, thank you, thank you! This is fascinating.

  10. Elinore says:

    How wonderful to find this heritage, and yourself along the way!

  11. What gorgeous descriptive writing and vivid emotions in soul pictures you have given me! I don’t know who you are or where you are, but I feel deeply touched to have heard about some of journey. My cousin, Bonnie Anderson Walter, is the lead genealogist in our family of Carlton-Iverson relatives, and she and I spent a day recently looking at pictures and appreciating our ancestors and their lives.

    Thank you so much for giving us this gift. I treasure it!

    Anita L. Kozan
    Minneapolis Minnesota USA

    1. Anita, thank you so much for your wonderful response. You are a real encouragement to me to write more. It is what my soul loves, but I so rarely make time for it. This story seems to have really moved people in so many ways, and both the ancestry journey and the subsequent one of writing it have connected me with so many people in quite profound ways. And, of course, they’ve connected me to me again.
      You might be interested in an entirely different project I’ve been part of, and which has also inspired me: I’ve been helping digital asset management expert Peter Krogh to publish a book about how to digitize photos (old prints, slides and even albums) using a standard DSLR camera. (See http://www.thedambook.com/dyp.) Through that project, I ‘met’ some of his incredible ancestors, as we used their images to illustrate the book. And now we’re connecting with thousands of people who are finding the joy in keeping their old family photos alive, and making them more widely available. Telling our family stories in words and images is such a meaningful, grounding thing, I’ve realized. A real happiness generator.
      Thanks again for your beautiful note.

      1. Good morning Dominique! It is just shy of 5 AM where I live and I am packing to leave for a wedding in Phoenix Arizona. I look forward to reading about your work with photo preservation as well as your other writings. Please know that your efforts and energy are blessing the planet. Anita

  12. Bourbao says:

    Hi,
    my name is Lydia and I live in a small town, Le Conquet, in France. My mother’s name is Le Roux, she was South African, her ancestor was Gabriel. Welcome in the “big” family Le Roux.

    1. Lydia, it’s great to hear from you! Apologies that I did not see your message earlier. Thank you so much for your welcome! I just looked on the map to see where Le Conquet is, as I will be visiting France with my mother and brother and his family next month, but we will be SE and I see you are in the west. Wishing you all the best.

      1. christien du Preez says:

        Hi lydia. my mother was also a le Roux, and she had a sister with the name of Hester, married to Frans marais. they had an only daughter called Lydia. just wondering if you may be that child, or the daughter of Lydia. I so enjoyed domenique’s writing on the farm pommegorge. I am going to france in July, and as I will be not far from Blois, I am adamant to visit the farm. It will be wonderful to stand where our forefathers lived.

        1. Bourbao says:

          Sorry for that very late response. I was born in France, I’m 66 years old. My father was a soldier during the Second World War, in the Free French Forces. He stayed in South Africa in 1943, met mom. They were married in December1943. Mom came then (returned) to France in the country of her ancestors. Currently, I am doing the genealogy of my South African family. I wish to transmit to my children the “fabulous story of the family Le Roux”

  13. Sebastien says:

    That is really cool Dom! You know I grew up in this region, my village is Vienne en val, you can google map it, and one of my neighbours when I was a kid was named Ivon Leroux. Maybe you are related to him…
    I hope you like the place where I grew up!😀

  14. Ian Robertson says:

    Fantastic Dom! Marianne would have loved to have seen this. I still have Grandpa Dick’s writings of his early life and patching together his recollections of family history. I must get these to you as it may fill in some of the gaps.

    1. Janine Wencke says:

      Wow Ian, I never knew about Grandpa Dick’s writings. That would be fascinating!

Leave a comment